Candeo Creative : Blog

The Power Of Kindness In The Workplace

1 Comment

I’ve always been the type of person to say “hello” and smile at everyone who walks pass, hoping it would bring a second of joy to their day. I’ve also always believed a simple kind word goes a long way.

hello (1).jpg

The other day, I came across a quote that really inspired me: “Never suppress a generous thought” by Camilla Kimball. It made me think deeply and passionately about my life and where I work. In this day and age, it seems like violence and anger are what we primarily hear about online and in the news. Nonetheless, I never underestimate the power of a generous thought. I know saying nice things won’t change the world, but it may make a difference in someone’s day.

I knew this philosophy of mine was shared the minute I sat down on my first day at Candeo Creative. I came to work on a cold February day and was filled with nervous excitement. On my glass desk sat a welcome box with sweet treats and a thoughtful, handwritten card. Handwritten cards are personal and welcoming, and many people forget the power behind them. Sheng Riechers, the director of operations, took the time to write a generous thought and made me feel welcomed and excited about this adventure ahead.

At Candeo Creative, kindness is in every corner and I’m not just saying that because I work here. No team member ever suppresses a generous thought, and that’s one reason I love this work environment. The kindness and the atmosphere make me love coming to work, and feel encouraged and motivated.

A perfect example of sharing generous thoughts is when content goes around for proofing. There aren’t just comments about grammatical errors or suggestions, but also compliments of ideas, word choice and thoughts. This may seem like a simple gesture, but it goes a long way. The marketing and advertising industry is stressful, especially with all of the deadlines and budgets. Stress is inevitable, but simple, generous thoughts help make that stress more tolerable.

IMG_3448 (1).jpg

Candeo Creative has reinforced my belief of kindness, especially in the workplace. Our words may not be changing the world, but they are changing lives and, to me, that’s what is most important. When you have a kind or generous thought, say it. You never know who’s life you will change or who you will motivate and inspire.

When was the last time you were kind to someone and made their day?

One thought on “The Power Of Kindness In The Workplace

  1. Pingback: 3 TED Talks That Will Inspire Your Marketing | Candeo Creative : Blog

What did you think of this blog post?

