Candeo Creative : Blog

When Customers and Clients Become Friends

Leave a comment

client friends

While sitting here pondering why I’m writing a blog for our company (when I should be on vacation) it suddenly dawned on me, my colleagues have become my friends. Is this also the reason why, when I should have been siding my house or having a bit of me time, I found myself constantly thinking about my clients and their projects?

The thought of letting my friends down is what keeps me glancing at my phone and wondering if everyone is doing OK. My working relationships have become friendships, too!

If you ask any successful person, whether in business or politics, you will hear over and over again, “It’s all about relationships” and, in business, relationships bring great value.

Kess Metrics will often write about customer relationships, I have a bookmark of an article they wrote some time ago that I greatly appreciated 10 Ways to Make Customers Fall in Love with Your Business.

These are some of the things that I would recommend to take your business relationships to the next level.

Be your customer  

If there was someone else offering the same service or product as you, do you offer anything extra that can set you apart? Would you like to work with or hire yourself? What would you change?

Be willing to change and take risks

The world is an ever-changing place, so don’t get left behind. Try something different to attract new relationships. This might affect some of your old contacts, but if building relationships is your goal, the risk will pay off in the end.

Have an attractive personality

Show enthusiasm for everything. Help others relay ideas. Listen to others. Have confidence in how you speak and act. Know the difference between confidence and cockiness. Leave each person better off than when you found them.

Make connections

It’s easier to build a relationship when you can find something in common. This could be a hobby, their kids or their favorite sports team. The list is endless, but remembering the small things about your customers or clients is what makes your relationship valuable and harder for them to break.

Go the extra mile

Relationship will always grow when you’re willing to go the extra mile.

You don’t need to be best friends with your clients or customers to have a relationship, but a relationship built on integrity and value will keep your business growing.

“The way we communicate with others and with ourselves ultimately determines the quality of our lives.”– Anthony Robbins

What did you think of this blog post?

