Candeo Creative : Blog

How I Manage Stress As A PR And Marketing Professional

2 Comments

leslie-knope-stress-1leslie-knope-stress-2Being a PR professional is more stressful than being a police officer or CEO of a company according to Career Cast’s list of the 10 most stressful jobs of 2013.

My husband, well on his way to becoming a police officer, has a difficult time understanding how my career of choice could be more stressful than his. Even as a community service officer, he’s subject to rabid dogs and disgruntled ticket receivers, but nonetheless, my job in the safety of my office is more stressful than his.

When you think about it, the stresses of being a PR professional are clear; working under tight deadlines in the public eye to reverse whatever damage has been done can be somewhat stressful.

However, it’s not just PR that doesn’t get a break. Creative and communication jobs are pretty stressful too. No wonder marketers rank second (just under scientists) as the top coffee drinkers by profession.

Going back to my husband, he’d be the first one to tell you that I am incapable of relaxing. I see weekends as an opportunity to catch up on my work. However, I do find ways to keep my stress under control.

1. Exercise

Contrary to popular belief, I do work out. Every morning I get up at 5 a.m. and spend about an hour on the treadmill. There are tons of benefits to working out in the morning. It boosts your metabolism, energizes you for the day and increases mental acuity.

2. Music

I am a music fanatic. I listen to music when I’m getting ready in the morning, during my work commute and of course at my desk! I am a Spotify junkie. What I love about Spotify is the awesome workday playlists to help get you through those sometimes unbearable eight hours.

3. Eat Healthy

It’s no surprise that a happy body equals a happy mind. Feed your body what it craves. No, I’m not talking about cheese puffs and candy. I’m talking about a balanced diet of protein and carbs. I love to cook, and when I cook for myself, I can control what goes in my body. I’ve made it a habit to cook healthy, balanced dinners that double as lunch for the next day! Since I started “eating clean,” I have more energy and am generally happier. Who would’ve thunk!

4. Sleep

Another no-brainer. If you’re constantly in “go-mode,” your body and brain never get a chance to rest. People NEED sleep. This is the time when your body and brain repair themselves to face another day, so make sure you’re getting at least 7 hours of sleep every night. And instead of waking up at 5 a.m. on the weekend, allow yourself to sleep in a little to catch up on that sleep deficit you’ve accumulated during the hectic workweek.

5. Attitude and Gratitude

Instead of dreading your daunting to-do list, look at tasks as opportunities to grow and learn something new. Also never lose sight of what’s important. Every day write down three things that you’re grateful for. They don’t have to be mind-boggling epiphanies. I remember one day I wrote in my journal that I was thankful for my Spinbrush. Seriously! I love the way it cleans my teeth versus regular toothbrushes.

6. Have Fun

The one thing that I love most about working at Candeo Creative is the fun that we all have together. Even during the most stressful weeks, we all find time to laugh and poke fun at each other. After all laughter is nature’s finest cure-all. 🙂

7. Manage Your Time

I would be lost without my Google calendar. I put everything in there, from work meetings and project deadlines to my hubby’s schedule and  family birthday parties. By putting an engagement down in writing, this guarantees that I won’t forget it and helps me stay one step ahead of the game.

8. Do Things You Enjoy

Before my career and getting married, I used to have time for hobbies like baking, sewing and learning how to play the guitar. Now I rarely have time for those things, but I do find time to spend with my husband. It doesn’t matter if we’re on a fancy dinner date or at home in our PJs watching TV. Surrounding yourself with loved ones is always a mood booster.

How do you manage your stress?

Author: Sheng Riechers

Candeo Creative Communication Director

2 thoughts on “How I Manage Stress As A PR And Marketing Professional

  1. The best way I’ve found to handle stress for myself, is to turn on my Johnny Cash playlist and bake bread. There is something cathartic in the process of kneading, just taking out every negative thought on the dough. Likewise, there is a satisfaction in seeing the dough rise and joy in creating something, anything, in a very physical and concrete manner. All while singing ‘Folsom Prison Blues.’

What did you think of this blog post?

